Selim James Levy's Background and Experience

Selim James Levy was raised in a multicultural and multilingual family, which values humanitarian and human rights work, to which he was exposed as a child. He earned his pre- and post-secondary education in Canada in both official languages, as well as in South-East Asia, where he learned Mandarin.

After completing his Bachelor of Science (Hons) in Mathematics, he worked for several years as a science researcher in both the public and private sectors, and then as an independent consultant.

Returning to his roots and passion of helping others, he attended law school and started his mediation and conciliation practice in 2004, which revolved around family and business disputes. He had the opportunity to work in Geneva, Switzerland, for an international organization aiming to eradicate child labour, in particular the worst forms of child labour.

Upon returning to Ottawa, the law firm he founded contributes to individuals and the community by offering services almost exclusively in family law and related fields.

Selim James Levy at the office

Professional Affiliations and Community Commitment

Member of the Law Society of Upper Canada

Member of the Barreau du Québec

Accepts Legal Aid Ontario Certificates

Pro bono lawyer at OCISO

Sangita Gandhi's Background and Experience

Sangita Gandhi practices primarily in family law and child protection. She also prepares Wills and Powers of Attorney. Before completing her Law Degree at City University, Sangita earned an Honours Bachelor of Commerce degree with a minor in Marketing at McMaster University in Hamilton.

Sangita prides herself in keeping her clients fully informed as she progresses a file from start to finish. Whether she is discussing matters with opposing counsel, presenting in the courtroom or updating a client, Sangita is always thinking about how best to approach communicating with her audience.

Along with her role as a lawyer, Sangita is also a presenter for the Mandatory Information Program (MIP), where she provides information to individuals about their family court matters and alternatives to resolving their matters.

When not at work, Sangita can be found partaking in outdoors activities such as hiking, running or winter activities. She can also be found spending time with family and friends trying out new restaurants in the Ottawa area.

Sangita Gandhi

Professional Affiliations and Community Commitment

Member of the Law Society of Upper Canada

Accepts Legal Aid Ontario Certificates

Sara Carruthers's Background and Experience

Sara Carruthers practices family law and child protection. Prior to joining the firm, she worked at another boutique family law and child protection firm in Ottawa. Before completing her Juris Doctor (J.D.) law degree, Sara earned an Honours Bachelor of Journalism, both at the University of Ottawa.

During law school, Sara worked for two consecutive years at the University of Ottawa Community Legal Clinic in the Community Legal Education department, and assisted individuals in making applications to the Criminal Injuries Compensation Board.

Along with her role as a lawyer, Sara is a presenter for the Court’s Mandatory Information Program (MIP), where she provides valuable information about the legal process and alternatives to litigation, in the family law context.

Sara is passionate about people and about helping. For a number of years, Sara was a member of Toastmaster’s International, a public speaking group, which is aimed at refining communication skills and oral advocacy. Many of the skills she developed, she uses in her daily life, whether in court pursuing litigation or outside of court, pursuing negotiation or mediation.

In her spare time, Sara enjoys spending time with friends and family. She also enjoys staying active and you can often find her jogging by the Canal in downtown Ottawa or at her local spin studio.

Sara Carruthers

Professional Affiliations and Community Commitment

Member of the Law Society of Upper Canada

Accepts Legal Aid Ontario Certificates

Allison Lalonde's Background and Experience

Allison Lalonde is a family law and child protection law clerk and as such assists the lawyers in their practice. She graduated from the University of Ottawa with an Honours Bachelor of Social Sciences with Specialization in Criminology and a Minor in Law.

Allison grew up on a hobby farm in a small town in Eastern Ontario. She was involved in many extra curricular activities in the community including horseback riding, soccer, highland dancing and playing the fiddle. She went on to compete horses in dressage at the national and international level where she obtained championships in both Ontario and Quebec, and represented Canada at competitions in the United States.

Her passion to help people is what led her interest to family law. In the future, Allison wishes to further her education and continue working in family law and related fields.

You can frequently find Allison’s furry canine sidekick, Mika, at the office begging anyone for a pat.

Allison Lalonde

Formation et expérience de Selim James Levy

Selim James Levy a été élevé dans une famille polyglote et multiculturelle, qui valorise les droits de l'homme et le travail humanitaire, des valeurs auxquelles il a été exposé dès l'enfance. Il a complété son éducation pré- et post-secondaire au Canada dans les deux langues officielles, ainsi qu'en Asie, où il a appris le mandarin.

Après avoir complété son baccalauréat ès sciences spécialisé en mathématiques, il a travaillé pendants plusieurs années comme chercheur en sciences tant dans les secteurs public que privé, et ensuite en tant que consultant indépendant.

Afin de revenir à ses racines et sa passion d'aider, il a étudié le droit et a commencé sa pratique de médiation et de conciliation en 2004, une pratique qui se concentrait sur les litiges familiaux et commerciaux. Il a ensuite eu l'opportunité de travailler à Genève, en Suisse, pour une organisation internationale qui visait l'éradication du travail des enfants, plus particulièrement les pires formes de travail des enfants.

Depuis son retour à Ottawa, le cabinet qu'il a fondé contribue aux individus ainsi qu'à la communauté en offrant des services presque exclusivement en droit de la famille et des domaines connexes.

Selim James Levy at the office

Affiliations professionnelles et engagement communautaire

Membre en règle du Barreau du Haut-Canada

Membre en règle du Barreau du Québec

Accepte les mandats d'Aide Juridique Ontario

Avocat pro bono à OCISO

Formation et expérience de Sangita Gandhi

Sangita Gandhi pratique principalement en droit de la famille et en protection de l'enfance. Elle prépare également les testaments et les procurations. Avant d'obtenir son diplôme en droit à la City University, Sangita a obtenu un baccalauréat spécialisé en commerce avec une mineure en marketing de l'Université McMaster à Hamilton.

Sangita est fière de tenir ses clients pleinement informés tout au long du processus de traitement d'un dossier. Qu'elle discute de questions avec l'avocat(e) adverse, présente dans la salle d'audience ou mette à jour un client, Sangita réfléchit toujours à la meilleure façon de communiquer avec son public.

En plus de son rôle d’avocate, Sangita est également présentatrice du programme d’information obligatoire (PIO), dans le cadre duquel elle fournit aux personnes des informations sur leurs cas en matière de droit de la famille et sur les solutions alternatives à leur résolution.

Sangita participe aux activités de plein air telles que la randonnée, la course à pied ou les activités hivernales. On peut également la trouver en train de passer du temps avec sa famille et ses amis à essayer de nouveaux restaurants dans la région d’Ottawa.

Sangita Gandhi

Affiliations professionnelles et engagement communautaire

Membre en règle du Barreau du Haut-Canada

Accepte les mandats d'Aide Juridique Ontario

Formation et expérience de Sara Carruthers

Sara Carruthers pratique le droit de la famille et la protection de l'enfance. Avant de se joindre au cabinet, elle a travaillé dans un autre cabinet spécialisé dans les mêmes champs de pratique à Ottawa. Avant d'obtenir son diplôme en droit Juris Doctor (J.D.), Sara a obtenu un baccalauréat spécialisé en journalsme, tous deux de l'Université d'Ottawa.

Pendant ses études en droit, Sara a travaillé pendant deux années consécutives à la Clinique juridique communautaire de l’Université d’Ottawa au sein du département d’éducation juridique communautaire et a aidé à présenter des demandes à la Commission d’indemnisation des victimes d’actes criminels.

Parallèlement à son rôle d’avocate, Sara est présentatrice du programme d’information obligatoire (PIO) de la Cour, où elle fournit des informations précieuses sur le processus judiciaire et les alternatives au litige, dans le contexte du droit de la famille.

Sara est une passionnée des gens et de les aider. Pendant plusieurs années, Sara a été membre du groupe Toastmaster’s International, un groupe de prise de parole en public, qui vise à perfectionner les compétences en communication et le plaidoyer oral. Elle utilise bon nombre des compétences qu'elle a acquises dans sa vie quotidienne, que ce soit devant un tribunal, en dehors d'un tribunal, en négociation ou en médiation.

Dans ses temps libres, Sara aime passer du temps avec ses amis et sa famille. Elle aime aussi rester active et vous la trouverez souvent en train de faire du jogging au bord du canal au centre-ville d'Ottawa ou dans son studio de cardio-vélo local.

Sara Carruthers

Affiliations professionnelles et engagement communautaire

Membre en règle du Barreau du Haut-Canada

Accepte les mandats d'Aide Juridique Ontario

Formation et expérience de Allison Lalonde

Allison Lalonde est une assistante juridique en droit de la famille et en droit de la protection de l'enfance et assiste ainsi les avocat(e)s dans leur pratique. Elle est titulaire d'un baccalauréat spécialisé en sciences sociales avec spécialisation en criminologie et d'une mineure en droit de l'Université d'Ottawa.

Allison a grandi dans une ferme d'agrément dans une petite ville de l'est de l'Ontario. Elle a participé à de nombreuses activités parascolaires dans la communauté, notamment l'équitation, le football, la danse highland et le violon. Elle a participé à des compétitions de dressage aux niveaux national et international, où elle a remporté divers championnats en Ontario et au Québec et a représenté le Canada à des compétitions aux États-Unis.

C'est sa passion d'aider les gens qui l'a amenée à s'intéresser au droit de la famille. À l'avenir, Allison souhaite poursuivre ses études et continuer à travailler en droit de la famille et dans des domaines connexes.

Vous pouvez souvent trouver Mika, l'acolyte canine d’Allison, au bureau, quémandant pour une caresse ou une gâterie.

Allison Lalonde